Devils-Flyers Postgame Quotes [11.27.10]

Travis Zajac:

Talking about rebounding from a loss the day before…

“We wanted to get those points yesterday, but to be able to come back today and get the two points against a very good hockey team; that was important for us.”

Was your move planned ahead in the shootout?

“I said to myself if I got a chance I would just fake a shot, then try to go upstairs.”

Were you trying to get him to go down?

“Yeah.”

Was it nice to get that goal when goals have been hard to come by this season for you?

“(smiles) Yeah; I wish those counted on the score sheet. It’s been a struggle for us the last couple of games. We haven’t done too much on offense, but our defense has been solid. I think if we continue to play hard defensively we are going to get more and more opportunities; but we still have to work on creating stuff offensively. It’s tough to win games when you score one goal a game, lucky for us our goalie has kept us in the last couple of times. We still have to find ways to score.”

What did you think of Hedberg’s game tonight?

“He’s been incredible. It seems like he’s a goalie that the more shots he gets, the better he is. Today, they got a lucky one on him, other than that he’s been making key saves for us in key situations of games. He’s the reason we won three out of four (games) this week.”

Johan Hedberg:

Did (Nikolay) Zherdev’s shot go through your five-hole there?

“Yeah, he fooled me. I thought he was going to shoot up, but it was a quick release, beat me five-hole.”

Did Danny Briere’s goal go in off your leg?

“Well I think what happened was they passed across (the crease) and it hit a skate, came back out and then Briere shot it at me. I think he shot it from the side of the net, it bounced up and hit my thigh and went in.”

Talking about the recent shootouts…

“Sometimes you don’t see one for thirty games, and then when you see them it’s four in five nights.”

Jason Arnott:

You scored a huge pressure goal today…almost 18,000 people were holding their breath; how did you feel going into it?

“(laughs) I just relaxed. The referee blowing the whistle as quick as he did so I could go instead of thinking about it helped a lot. I just had it in my head what I was going to do all along and it helps when you have it in your head what you are going to do.”

Tell me what was in your head?

“I knew he was going down a little bit early, and I wanted to go (top) shelf; it went bar and in. I wanted to make sure I got it off quick and hard…and it went in.”

It wasn’t the winner though, what about Zajac’s shot?

“He put a great move on the goalie; he came right in and put it upstairs. I can’t say enough about Travis — he comes to compete every night, he’s not always on the score sheet but he’s always playing solid defensively — and all around the ice. He’s been playing real well for us.”

You guys have won three of the last four games and seemed to have turned things around; how big was this one?

“It was huge; especially after a disappointing output yesterday, we wanted to come in, we knew Philly is atop the conference — we wanted to come in and just play hard. We haven’t had a whole lot of wins at home, the fans were behind us today and we battled it out. We were missing Patty as well, and everybody just chipped in where we could.”

Adam Mair:

Talking about his first point as a Devil…

“It feels good to contribute offensively and help the team win. I think as a whole we really got it together and played well; down shorthanded, the third game in three and a half nights, it was a good effort.”

How did it feel to get your first goal of the year?

“It feels great; I’ve had some chances. It’s not necessarily what’s expected of certain players on the team, but as a hockey player, you always like to score, you always like to help contribute offensively.”

What did you think of Hedberg today?

“He played great; he played great all week. He’s really been the backbone of our team and the success of our team; I can’t say enough good things about him. His work ethic, even when he wasn’t in the net; you need solid goaltending to win and Johan has done nothing but provide that, especially over the last week or so.”

1 Comment

  1. makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

