Devils-Oilers Postgame Quotes [11.12.10]

Here are the postgame quotes from the Devils-Oilers game:

Brian Rolston:

Talking about his return to the lineup…

“I’ve been out of the lineup 14 games so tonight was a bit of a battle (physically), but we got through it.”

It seems like the team is finally starting to play well together, do you agree?

“Well we looked a little better obviously; it always feels good to win for sure. There is still a long road ahead of us and we have to get (even) better.”

Can you talk about the goal you scored tonight?

“It was just a good play, a hard-working shift by our whole line. Clarkie (David Clarkson) came around the net, wrapped the puck and I just got the rebound; I was basically on top of the goalie so I didn’t have to shovel it too far.”

It came at a crucial point in the game though…

“Yeah absolutely; especially after they go up 3-1 and especially with the way things have gone around here, it was a character win for us to come back.”

Patrik Elias:

How big was it for Ilya to get that goal in overtime?

“Well obviously it was big, I’m pretty sure he’s relieved and it was a big goal for all of us.”

What were your impressions of Tedenby’s game tonight?

“I think I’m going to have to answer that about 50 times tonight (laughs), it’s okay. He’s played well, and he’s played well in both games he’s been here. He makes good plays, holds onto the puck, he’s poised with it and we had a couple of great cycles going. We had a lot of good (scoring) opportunities; hopefully the puck will start going in for us a little bit more. We had a lot of good chances in the first and second periods, we have to stay with it, play that way, have fun and it’ll go in.”

It seems like despite his size (listed modestly at 5’10”) he’s not afraid to go into the corners and bang bodies with some of the bigger players, do you agree?

“Yeah it’s tough to play against those small guys though…just look at Gionta — both of them (smiles). It’s tough to defend those guys, they’re usually very quick. Sometimes he may draw a penalty (on the opponent) because they’re so small. He’ll get better as we go along.”

Is there anything that you have to tell him during the game?

“We talk, we talk a lot. We talk power play, what do we want to do, we talk five-on-five; you know sometimes when he needs to be aggressive and when he needs to be poised. It’s a learning process and he’s asking questions.”

Ilya Kovalchuk:

How do you feel about how the game went?

“I thought we played real well, our start was there — we had a couple of great chances but they scored those two goals. But we never gave up, it was a great team effort and a great comeback; we’re definitely going to build on this.”

Did you want that puck at the end, did you want to get that goal?

“Yeah that what Oatesy (assistant coach Adam Oates) drew up on the board there during the timeout and we went started in a box and then went into the umbrella.”

Does it make you feel good to finally get that win at home?

“Yeah, it took us a while but sometimes you have to go all the way to the bottom. We have that win now and maybe we’ll start playing better and feeling better. We have a lot of guys back (in the lineup) now and that helps. Especially those veteran defenseman and Marty (Brodeur); we have some great young kids who play really hard but they were struggling because they don’t have much experience.”

Is that where you felt you were, rock bottom?

“Yeah; it couldn’t get worse.”

Personally?

“I think for everybody. Especially after that last game, you just have to smile at those things and move on.”

How did it feel to score that goal?

“It feels good. But we’re still, I don’t know, 14th or 15th in our conference, which is not where we want to be.”

Where did your shot beat the goalie?

“Low glove hand, I think right over his leg pad.”

When the game went to overtime how badly think you think ‘I want to be the guy tonight’?

“I think everybody was looking for it because when you step on the ice you want to score and help the team win. That’s our job.”

Can this be a win that sparks the team and leads you guys to reel a few (wins) off?

“That’s what we need. We have a big road trip coming up against three teams that play really well and it’ll be a good challenge for us.”

What did you think of (Alexander) Vasuynov’s goal?

“It was nice; he’s a guy that works really hard. My countryman (smiles), he got the first of many I hope; last year Zharky (Vladimir Zharkov) was here and he couldn’t get a goal. I really wanted him to score so he has confidence when he has the puck.”

Mattias Tedenby:

You could have had two goals tonight…

“Yeah, I know, I missed that one opportunity I had there on the power play when Clarkie shot and I got the rebound.”

When you did score it felt pretty good right?

“Yeah, exactly. It felt very good when I scored out there on the second PP.”

The deflection hit off the shaft of your stick or the blade?

“I think it was my blade.”

Did someone get the puck for you?

“Yeah I think so. I saw the puck before, but I don’t know where it is now.”

This is pretty easy right, you got a goal and an assist your first two games?

“I’m playing with good players and I’m just trying to work hard. Arnie (Jason Arnott) and Elias give me a lot of space (to work with) with smart passes.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Contact

    Email Me

    Phone: (347) 615-1650

  • November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other subscribers