Devils-Islanders postgame quotes (10.01.10)

Here are some of the postgame quotes after last night’s 4-3 win by the Devils over the Islanders:

Travis Zajac:

Talking about the game…

“It was an all right game; we played pretty well for most of the game — except for a couple of spurts there at the end. But overall we played hard, we did some things and we’ll try to be better tomorrow.”

There’s a bunch of new faces on the team, how has everyone blended together so far?

“Pretty good; I feel like it’s a good group of guys, a lot of veteran leaders who the kids can learn from.”

Are you considered one of those ‘veteran’ guys now, entering your 5th NHL season?

“Yeah I guess so, I’ve been here long enough and I know how everything’s done, what’s expected; so I think I can be a leader on and off the ice.”

How do you like your line so far with Zach (Parise) and Ilya (Kovalchuk)?

“It’s been good. I think we can still get better in some areas; we still have one more (preseason) game here to keep building chemistry. I think we’ve done pretty well so far, and it’s been a lot of fun.”

What’s the best thing that happened to you this summer?

“I don’t know; nothing really special happened. I relaxed and played a lot of golf.”

I thought for sure you would say bringing no. 17 back to the Devils…

“Yeah, that was great. Anytime you get a linemate like that, especially on my line, it helps. I’m glad he’s back here (with us).”


Jason Arnott:

The Kovalchuk line gets a lot of talk, but how important is it to get secondary scoring from your line?

“Well it’s going to be important. They’re going to be checked pretty hard during the year; if we can support them and put up points, give us some more offense – it will ease some pressure off of them no question. When you have two lines that can score goals and help each other out, it makes it a lot easier.”

Can you describe what happened on the give-and-go that resulted in Patrik’s goal?

“It was a turnover along the wall and Patty got it, I knew we had a 2-on-1. I knew he was going to pass it to me and I figured he’d be open back door, so we just kind of played tic-tac-toe with each other and he put it in (the net).”

When you guys score a goal like that does it remind you of the old days?

“Yeah (laughs) we were joking about it on the bench and some other guys were joking too; bringing us back to the 2000, 2001 stuff. It was good; it felt good to make those plays in that type of situation. It helps our confidence — no question.”


Martin Brodeur:

Talking about the team’s situation with the salary cap…

“For the chemistry of the team, the health of the team; we haven’t seen it, but now we’re down to it. I don’t think we’ve seen in this locker room, how tough it is for certain guys…yet. But we will. Now it’s coming down. You’re dealing with people’s lives, you can delay it (by placing someone on IR), but at the end of the day we have a problem and we have to get rid of some salary. I trust that Lou (Lamoriello) will make the decision that he needs to do for the better of the team — like he always does. I don’t think he does anything that wouldn’t be healthy for our hockey club; so I trust that he’ll do the right thing. The right thing, he knows what it is, I can’t tell him and I can’t tell you guys either because I don’t know what it is; I’m not involved (laughs) hopefully. He would have to ask (me).”

Did the first goal go off of somebody?

“No, whenever the guy got out of the pile he just chipped it past me; he didn’t even know it was in. He fell in the corner after the shot, turned around and his eyes were huge.”

The second (Matt) Moulson goal was right off of a draw…

“Yeah that was a good shot there. He turned around falling down and just whacked it. That was a goal scorer’s goal right there — there’s not too many guys that can do that.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

