Devils-Penguins Postgame Quotes [03.17.10]

Here are some of the postgame quotes after the Devils 5-2 win over the Penguins on Wednesday night:

Travis Zajac:

What happened on your shorthanded breakaway?

“I just wanted to get a quick shot away, I thought he was going to poke-check (me); I just didn’t get it up and he made the save.”

Did you feel not as bad or better 21 seconds later?

“Yeah, Patty comes down and buries one; that was good it gave us a 3-1 lead.”

You’re 6-0 against Pittsburgh this year, any explanation?

“No, not really; we just seem to save our best hockey for them. Any time you can beat the defending Stanley Cup champions, sweep them in a year, is definitely a good feeling; you can get some confidence off that.”

If you see them in the playoffs would this mean anything or absolutely nothing?

“I think it means a little, just knowing that we can beat them and have beat them. I definitely think it means something.”

How can you carry this success into Toronto tomorrow night?

“We’ve been playing really well at home and on the road is where we have to start being a little better, hopefully we can carry this momentum into tomorrow’s game. If we do the things we did tonight — getting pucks in deep and getting pucks to the net with traffic — then we should have some success.”

Zach Parise:

Talking about his goal…

“It was a good play by Travis to find me in front of the net; I took a couple of swipes at it and I ended up pushing it in. He made the play, he got (Marc-Andre) Fleury down-and-out for me and I just tapped it in.”

You also had another chance shortly after from almost the same spot…

“Yeah, I just couldn’t get it (the puck) settled down to get a good shot on goal.”

Dean McAmmond:

Can you explain the success this year against the Penguins?

“It’s just one of those things I guess. I know a few times this year we’ve caught them on back-to-back games, so I think we had an advantage there. I don’t know, maybe we get up for them because they have very potent forwards there. Tonight they didn’t have (Evgeni) Malkin there, so that hurt them a lot.”

Big penalty kill by you guys at the end of the game…

“We were poised, stayed on our toes, jumped on errant passes. You know what, they seemed to still find some seams and still got some shots, but Marty stood his ground and made some good saves; we’ve had some good fortune against them.”

What did you think of wearing the retro-uniforms tonight?

“I thought it was kind of cool, pretty neat. It’s fun to bring back (memories) from the older days, remembering them.”

Paul Martin:

Describing his goal…

“I just stepped up into a broken play and found the puck on my stick; (Rob) Niedermayer said ‘get going, there wasn’t anyone there,’ so I just took off. I went in (to the zone) and had some room, I tried to put everything I could on it and find a spot, and it went in. I’ll take it; it was definitely a good feeling after such a long absence.”

How do you feel?

“I feel good; better than I thought I would. They (the coaches) didn’t throw me into the fire, they kind of paced me a little bit, gave me some shifts here and there. I felt good, we’ll see tomorrow if I’m sore; it feels good to just be in there. You forget how much fun you have and why you’re working out for four months to get back, it was a lot of fun tonight and a big win for our team.”

Is this the way you envisioned it when you thought about playing this game tonight?

“Yeah that would be nice; I definitely didn’t envision any goal, any points or anything like that. It was mostly just get through the game, try to knock some rust off and eat some minutes — scoring a goal, that was a bonus.”

Your legs felt good out there?

“Yeah, they felt good, I’ve been skating for a while, but it felt good to be out there in game situations. It was fun, I’m glad the way it went tonight and hopefully I can be better tomorrow.”

Dainius Zubrus:

Talking about his goal…

“I came off the bench and there was a turnover in the neutral zone and Patty made a great play, heads up. I don’t know if they were trying to change or what but he made a nice play behind his back to me, I had some speed on it. I initially thought I could take a shot, but with the speed I thought I could get around the goalie too. I gave him a bit of a fake, tried to get around him.”

Fleury started stumbling backwards when you made that fake…

“I’d have to see the replay, but it’s good if the fake works (grins); as I’m faking, I’m kind of looking at him and then thought maybe I could freeze him a little bit — I guess it worked.”

You let out a pretty big yell after you scored too…

“I was pretty pumped; you know, we started slow the first ten minutes or whatever, it was kind of slow for us. We’re playing a good team, in front of a sold-out crowd, so guys were up for this game; we just started a bit slow. It was that first goal that got us going a little bit — I was pretty happy to get that one.”

Jacques Lemaire:

What was so good about the way tour team played tonight?

“Especially after the first three to five minutes where they were all over us; we couldn’t win a battle and then we settled down and started to take over. We got a few goals and after that I thought we played a great game.”

Could you believe Martin scored a goal in his first game back?

“Well, I was happy for him; you could tell he wanted to do well, he was looking for the opportunity to move up the ice and do something. At that point there he decided to go, it was a defenseman there, he went around him and got off a good shot; it was a smart shot.”

Killing a penalty, you get two breakaways and score on one, not too bad right?

“Yeah, usually we don’t get too many opportunities on our PK, but it’s nice to have them. It gives the guys confidence that they could get a goal a different times. But what we’re looking for is not having the opponent to score a goal, more than getting one. But when they go in you take them very easily.”

Will Martin play tomorrow?

“We haven’t decided that yet. We talked briefly about it and we’ll make a decision on the way there or tomorrow.”

Are you surprised you beat Pittsburgh all six times?

“Oh yeah, definitely; it tells us it’s nice to have confidence and beat a team during the year, but playoffs is a different season and you start from scratch.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

