Devils-Panthers Postgame Quotes

Here are some of the postgame quotes after Friday’s 4-2  loss by the Devils to the Panthers:

Martin Brodeur:

Are you upset giving away points to a team below you?

“Well, you’d like to win every game; they’re trying to get out of the funk that they’re in and it just shows that you have to play 60 minutes and respect every opponent. I thought we were prepared, but they just beat us tonight.”

Unhappy for you but were you happy for Clemmensen?

“I just lost a game, I don’t think I’m happy for somebody else but, I’m sure he was looking forward to this game.”

What happened on the first goal?

“That’s a long time ago.”

Did Jordan Leopold just beat you high with that shot?

“Oh yeah, (laughs) sorry; I don’t know he just came and walked right in and shot it as hard as he could top shelf.”

On the fourth goal did you guess wrong?

“Eh, he made a pretty good move. I thought he was going to go on his backhand and he came quickly back on his forehand, he still had to get it up over my pad; and he did.”

Surprised to see him that wide open?

“Yeah, I was looking down ice; I didn’t see him coming at all.”

Colin White:

Is it good that you have another game tomorrow night to try and get rid of the bad taste from this one?

“We don’t feel we played very good tonight obviously and we have to come with a better effort tomorrow.”

Was there one thing they did tonight that kept the team off balance?

“They outworked us, and we had a lot of turnovers. They played their game for 60 minutes, and we sat back and instead of dictating the game we didn’t do what our game plan is. We didn’t execute tonight.”

Michael Frolik:
Do you like to play in this building?

“Yeah, for sure, I scored my first NHL goal here, so it’s nice if you come back; I have good memories here, it always stays in your head — I’ll never forget it. I think I really like to play here.”

Can you describe that breakaway?

“I think the d-man on my side; he kind of lost his balance and fell there. I just skated in the middle and Horty (Nathan Horton) saw me up there and passed to me. I got a breakaway and I just did what I did there.”

You guys really wanted to get this win for Clemmensen, right?

“For sure, he was playing here for a while. He did pretty well; he played a really good game and made a couple of good saves.”

Were you surprised you were so wide-open on your second goal?

“Yeah, he fell and I was all alone there (in the middle).”

Did you know what move you were going to use?

“I kind of decided between circles what I was going to do. It’s not my move, but I try to do it sometimes.”


Scott Clemmensen:

How did you feel out there tonight?

“It was good, you know, just all the sights and the sounds of this building really put me at ease. It was good to be back here — I have a lot of good memories in this building; and I put tonight’s win up there with them.”

Was it fun to get the win over Marty?

“Yeah; I respect him and the organization so much, so it does mean a lot for me to come in here and beat them. And I don’t mean that in a negative sense at all, I have so much respect for them that it’s a big win for not only me, but the team as well.”

Was it nice to see an early goal go up there for your team?

“Absolutely, anytime you can jump out to a lead like that, it takes a lot of pressure off, you as a goalie. We had a three-goal lead there at the beginning of the second (period), our guys did a good job getting deflections past Marty. If you let a goal in you know its not the end of the world. I was very impressed with everyone’s effort, particularly our defense tonight. Especially at the end of the game when we were trying to weather their big push there at the end.”

Gets a little hairy in the third when its 3-2?

“Yeah, (laughs), we had some bad losses in the past, but the way we responded – we didn’t change anything, I don’t think anyone was panicking. Then Frolik gets that big breakaway goal and gets it right back; that was a huge goal for us.”

You face the Devils so many times in practice, was it weird when it really counted?

“Yes, definitely; I wish I could explain it better, the only thing I can say is it’s weird. You play against your friends, maybe one or two on a team. Obviously tonight, it was the whole team, it was very strange, very weird, but nonetheless you still have to do your job out there. I’m happy we won.”

Jacques Lemaire:

When it’s a one-goal game, what went wrong on Florida’s fourth goal?

“I think it was Greenie, I didn’t see how it happened. I said ‘how come we got caught there’ and I was told that (Andy) Greene fell. It happened and they scored, but at that time we were coming back and I thought the game was tilting in our favor.”

Do you feel your best players played their best tonight?

“Some of them I know that hey can play better, you’re right. But overall I’m pleased with how the guys played.”

Talk about Dean McAmmond, who’s had some chances and got a goal…

“Well that is a result of hard work, its hard work that he got that goal. You look at that line, that line was solid again tonight, they were on top and played in the other zone quite a bit and spent minutes there.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

