Devils-Red Wings Postgame Quotes [12.05.09]

Here are some of the postgame quotes after Saturday’s 4-3 shootout win by the Devils over the Red Wings:

Jay Pandolfo:

How did you feel in your first game back?

“Not bad. It’s been a while, but I felt good. It was nice to get a win.”
You notched an assist in the second period, breakdown what happened…

“It was a quick (developing) 3-on-2, Rob Niedermayer gave me a nice pass and I just kind of drove wide and Zharky opened up nicely so I threw it over to him and he got a quick shot off, and Nieds drove to the net (and scored).”

You almost scored your own goal later on…

“Yeah, that was close, but their guy got back in time. It would’ve been nice.”

Niclas Bergfors:

Thoughts on tonight’s game…

“We came out pretty strong, I think it was back and forth the whole game. We had too many turnovers though, but I think we put in a pretty good effort.”

Is Detroit a tough team to play against?

“Yeah they’re a pretty good team, even though they have some injuries. But at the same time we have injuries too, so yeah, it was a good game.”

Vladimir Zharkov:

How did it feel playing against Detroit tonight?

“I was a little nervous because Detroit’s a very good team, good passers, good forwards. But in the NHL, all teams are pretty good, it doesn’t matter. Coach put me on a good line in the game, I played with good guys – first two periods I played with Rollie (Brian Rolston) and Patrik (Elias) and third period I played with Jay and Rob; they’re good guys. We had a good chance on a 3-on-2 and I had a good shot; and we got a goal.”

It felt good to score a point again, right?

“Yeah (big smile).”

Johnny Oduya:

How’d you feel throughout the game?

“I felt pretty good; I actually felt better than I thought I would. We’ll see tomorrow (how I feel) at practice; I’ll probably be more tired. Come Monday (in Buffalo), I’ll be fine.”
How did your goal develop?

“I gloved down a shot, or a half-a-shot or something from the point and just took off; I think it was a 3-on-2 coming down the ice. Their D-men kind of took away both of my passing options, so it just gave me a half-breakaway, I went to the net and shot it.”

On their first goal, you kind of fell down…

“Yeah, I came back and their guy kind of stopped on the (blue) line, I should have just kept going back instead and kind of back off. I tried to go towards him and I don’t know, the puck stayed there and I fell down; it was a 3-on-1 coming back, obviously I’m not too happy about that play. But I’d rather, the first game coming back, I’d rather go and keep my legs going and try to get in the game and get in situations and after that you can adjust to situations.”

What made you fall?

“I think I ran into him, I think that’s what happened.”

Your goal, you seemed to enjoy that a lot, did it bother you that you hadn’t put any points up before you got hurt?

“No, it didn’t bother me, I think obviously it helps out, but as a d-man, especially here, I think you want to play good defensively and have a solid game and create chances, and maybe at times the puck will go in; but I think I see it as a bonus.”

Martin Brodeur:

Talking about Tomas Holmstrom’s goal…

“He’s the type of player, that’s what he does; he’s really effective with it. He did that because we gave him (power play) opportunities to be there. Early in the game, we played so well that he couldn’t get to the front of the crease.”

Were you completely screened on the tying goal by Patrick Eaves?

“Yeah, well I didn’t see that he touched it. I thought (Justin) Abdelkader was going to pass it across more than take a shot towards the net – when I got set he just touched it enough for it to miss my stick and go through my legs.”

You guys are pretty confident in the shootout, right Marty?

“Yeah we have some guys that are making some great plays scoring goals; that always help out a lot when you give up a goal and come back with a big goal. Again, it’s a skill competition, and so far it has been pretty good (for us).”

Chris Osgood:
Talking about Oduya’s goal…

“I probably should have had it, the guy came down the wing; there wasn’t a whole lot to it. I’d probably like to have it back, but that doesn’t happen. In New Jersey, you don’t want to fall down 2-0, on most nights you’re going to lose.”

Did you try to poke check Elias in the shootout?

“Yeah, I’m not much of a poker; I can tell you that; I had to wait like half a second. I always tell the guys I’m going to, when they come in slow like that, but I couldn’t because he’s got such quick hands — I just missed it. I’ll probably try it again, you have to do different things; you can’t do the same things (in a shootout) over and over.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

